Nominations are now open for the Yorkshire Children of Courage Awards 2024

Nominations are open.

The Yorkshire Children of Courage Awards 2024 has officially launched after a star-studded event last night in Leeds City Centre.

The event saw several sporting supporters of the charity, including Rugby league legend Rob Burrow CBE, Leeds Rhinos players Rhyse Martin and Ash Handley, former LUFC star Brian Deane , and women’s rugby league player and commentator Danika Priim alongside host of the awards and Yorkshire TV presenter Christine Talbot and some of last year’s deserving winners.

The awards itself is set to be held on 18 October 2024 at Leeds New Dock Hall where Christine Talbot and BBC Weatherman Jon Hammond will present an array of exciting awards to children aged 0-18 that have truly been remarkable.

Christine said:“I’ve hosted the Yorkshire Children of Courage Awards for several years now, and it is always one of the most special ceremonies of the year. I’m blown away every time by the amazing young winners and their stories. It’s always a spectacular, inspirational, and uplifting event. I can’t wait to be back this year.”

2023 YCOC winners. / Image: Supplied, PGHL

The categories span through sports and fundraising into those that are caring for others and ‘beyond brave’ or have made a special achievement.

The idea is that each category has two age groups: one 0-12 and then a young adults version aged 13-18.

And with the 2024 event officially launched, nominations are now open to the public.

This year marks the twelfth year of the Yorkshire Children of Courage Awards, which “honour and recognise courageous young people across the Yorkshire region and raise funds for the St. James’s Place Charitable Foundation”. 

Funds raised by the YCCA have contributed hugely towards helping children, community groups, and organisations across Yorkshire over the past eleven years. All monies raised at the YCCA awards ceremony are matched pound-for-pound by St. James’s Place.

The website notes that entries only have to be nominated once to be considered, and votes are not based on number of nominations.

Categories include:

  • Sporting Superstar (0-12)
  • Sporting Superstar (13-18)
  • Fantastic Fundraiser (0-12)
  • Fantastic Fundraiser (13-18)
  • Compassionate Carer (0-12)
  • Compassionate Carer (13-18)
  • Beyond Bravery (0-12)
  • Beyond Bravery (13-18)
  • Amazing Achievement (0-12)
  • Amazing Achievement (13-18)
  • Children’s Charity of the Year

You can nominate someone deserving of a Yorkshire Children of Courage Award in 2024 here.

Feature Image – Supplied, PGHL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts