Everything you need to know about the MOBO Awards coming to Sheffield

The MOBO Awards return to Yorkshire.

The UK’s biggest celebration of Black music and culture is landing in Sheffield tonight.

On Wednesday 7 February 2024, the Utilita Arena will be packed out with some 12,000 excited fans tonight, with thousands more watching the live streamed version on YouTube here from 7pm.

Comedian, actor and comedian Babatúndé Aléshé and former Love Island contestant, panelist and TV personality, Indiyah Polack will be hosting the evening, presenting the awards, with special performances promised throughout the night from DJ Spoony.

The DJ promises a ‘landmark performance’ to mark the 30th anniversary of UK Garage with some ‘very special guest appearances’.

person on MOBO Awards.
Image: MOBO Awards

MOBO Founder & CEO Kanya King CBE said: “We are thrilled to announce Babatúndé Aléshé and Indiyah Polack as the charismatic hosts for the 26th MOBO Awards. They share such energy and chemistry, as I saw for myself when we met, and it will be a dynamic combination for the vibrant and spectacular awards show. I know they will pull out all the stops on the night!

It has been hard not to let slip that DJ Spoony will lead a landmark performance celebrating 30 years of UK Garage, promising some special surprises. Byron Messia, dancehall’s golden boy will light up the stage, while Soul II Soul, our MOBO Lifetime Achievement Award recipients, will honour us with their timeless sound that has shaped British music. Some more great names in the pipeline……watch this space!

It will be a historic night where music, culture, and outstanding talent converge at the MOBO Awards – a celebration not to be missed!”

MOBO Awards list.
Image: The Sheff

The list of nominees are as follows…

MOBO Award nominees

Best Male Act

  • Central Cee 
  • Dave 
  • D-Block Europe 
  • J Hus  
  • Nines 
  • Stormzy

Best Female Act 

  • Flo
  • Jorja Smith 
  • Little Simz 
  • Mahalia 
  • Pinkpantheress
  • Raye 

Album Of The Year

  • Ezra Collective – Where I’m Meant To Be
  • J Hus – Beautiful And Brutal Yard 
  • Little Simz – No Thank You 
  • Potter Payper – Real Back In Style 
  • Raye – My 21st Century Blues 
  • Stormzy – This Is What I Mean 

Song Of The Year

  • Central Cee & Dave – ‘Sprinter’ 
  • J Hus Feat. Drake – ‘Who Told You’ 
  • Jorja Smith – ‘Little Things’ 
  • Pinkpantheress & Ice Spice – ‘Boys A Liar Pt.2’ 
  • Raye & 070 Shake – ‘Escapism’ 
  • Stormzy – ‘Hide & Seek’ 

Best Newcomer 

  • Ama Lou
  • Antslive
  • Debbie
  • Jayo
  • Nippa 
  • No Guidnce 
  • Rimzee 
  • Strandz
  • Tamera 
  • Tunde

Video Of The Year

  • Antslive – ‘Number One Candidate’ (Directed By Tom Emmerson) 
  • Enny – ‘No More Naija Men’ (Directed By Otis Dominique) 
  • Jords – ‘Dirt In The Diamond Ep1: Mobay Feat. Tay Iwar / Stay Close Feat. Kranium’ (Directed By Renee Maria Osubu) 
  • Little Simz – ‘Gorilla’ (Directed By Dave Meyers) 
  • Stormzy – ‘Mel Made Me Do It’ (Directed By Klvdr)
  • Tion Wayne – ‘Healing’ (Directed By Wowa) 

Best R&B/Soul Act

  • Bellah 
  • Jaz Karis 
  • Mahalia 
  • Ragz Originale 
  • Sampha 
  • Sault 

Best Hip Hop Act

  • Avelino 
  • Clavish   
  • Digga D
  • Enny
  • Fredo 
  • Giggs
  • Little Simz 
  • Loyle Carner
  • Nines
  • Potter Payper

Best Grime Act

  • Bugzy Malone
  • Duppy
  • Flowdan
  • Manga Saint Hilare 
  • Novelist
  • P Money

Best Drill Act

  • Central Cee
  • Headie One
  • K-Trap
  • Kwengface
  • M24
  • Russ Millions
  • Teezandos
  • Unknown T

Best International Act

  • Doja Cat
  • Drake & 21 Savage 
  • Travis Scott
  • Ice Spice 
  • Latto
  • Lil Uzi Vert
  • Nicki Minaj 
  • Sexyy Red
  • Sza
  • Victoria Monet 

Best Performance In A TV Show/Film 

  • Adjani Salmon As Kwabena – Dreaming Whilst Black 
  • Damson Idris As Franklin Saint – Snowfall
  • Déja J. Bowens As Vita – Champion 
  • Idris Elba As Sam – Hijack 
  • India Amarteifio As Queen Charlotte – Queen Charlotte: A Bridgerton Story 
  • John Boyega As Fontaine – They Cloned Tyrone 
  • Lashana Lynch As Izogie – The Woman King 
  • Letitia Wright As Shuri – Black Panther: Wakanda Forever 
  • Malcolm Kamulete As Bosco – Champion

Feature Image – MOBO Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts